Chasing Dreams: A Train To Mumbai

From a Street Vendor to A Stage Artist; Pravin Is All Set To Go To Mumbai


Pravin Kumar, who loves to be called PK, moved to Delhi in 2013 for the search of work. In the beginning, he started a stall of artificial jewellery at India Gate and later started working as a roadside photographer.

Preparation for SBI Clerk (20)

“I switched my professional three years back and started photography. I bought this secondhand camera for 18,000 rupees and learned photography skills from a friend. I changed my profession because photography had more money than selling artificial jewellery,” he said. With his secondhand DSLR camera, he captures memories of those who would want their photographs at one of the most iconic attractions of Delhi.

“Photography gives me additional financial support, but this is not what I want to do in my entire life. I’m a fan of Jonny Lever and Paresh Rawal, and I want to be a comedy artist like them. I’m saving money so that I can go to Mumbai to follow my passion,” says Pravin. Pravin tells me that he has been working as a part-time Nukkad Natak artist for last 3 years. He has been offered work during the Delhi elections by Congress, and during the Bihar elections too.

“I get somewhere between 700-1000 rupees for a day show. But it is not about the money, for now, I’m gaining experience and making my portfolio. I get recognition in public. I was offered to play as a comedy artist by political parties and local shows too. So far, I’ve played around 500 acts. I play 5 to 10 acts daily whenever I get the work,” Pravin said.

Preparation for SBI Clerk (18)

He tells me that the last year he was hired by Hotstar for a month for their promotional campaign in Uttarpradesh. “Working with Hotstar was a lifetime experience. On the first day, I was a bit nervous, but after a couple of days, things became quite comfortable. All the crew would call me Baburao, many people took the selfies with me, and I felt like a celebrity. I was paid 25,000 rupees for a month’s campaign with food, travel and stay,” he added.

Untitled design (56)

‘The lockdown ruined everything’

“After the government imposed the lockdown, both my photography work and Nukkad Natak collapsed completely. After the Hotstar performance, I was offered a few more contracts for the acts, including for IPL and Mortein, but they all were cancelled due to the coronavirus, Pravin said.

“My photography work was shut down too. I had to left to my home Mainpur. And things became ever worse after that. My father was diagnosed with cancer during the lockdown. I have already spent over 2 lakh rupees for his treatment, and I need to send 15,000 rupees to my home every month,” he added.

Pravin came back to Delhi after the government lifted the lockdown. But, it was not easy to find the work again. He told me that he couldn’t find any opportunities at India Gate as a photographer as the footfall came down to almost nil. The photographers’ potential customers at India Gate are either foreigners or People from outside Delhi, but the pandemic affected the entire tourism industry badly and restricted the tourists from outside in the city. Pravin had to relocate his photography work, and now, he usually finds his customers at Lodhi Garden.

“The earnings through the photography came to almost zero after the lockdown. Here, at Lodhi Garden, I make 200 to 500 bucks a day, and some days, I don’t even earn a single penny,” said Pravin.

The journey to be a Nukkad Natak artist

“Since my childhood, I had an interest in acting, dance and mimicry. I’ve grown up seeing Govinda, Jonny Lever and Paresh Rawal. It was in 2018 when I joined the dance classes, where I met a few people who were stage artists. I became their friend and got a chance to involve in their acts. During a show, one of their friends was not available for the act, and fortunately, I got the chance to be a part of the act. I impressed everyone with my performance, and that was the start of my career as a comedy artist,” said Pravin.

Preparation for SBI Clerk (19)

Like every other inspiring actor, Pravin too wanted to go to Mumbai, but the lockdown scattered his dreams. Pravin told me that he is saving money, he had to start it again from the scratch after the lockdown to save money for his Mumbai dream. “I had planned to visit Mumbai in 2020, but the pandemic had different plans. I was left with no work for 8 months, and all the savings went to the daily expanses and the cancer treatment of my father. But I will try to go to Mumbai in the next 5-6 months,” Pravin said.

Published by Rudriie

Hi! I’m Rudriie. A passionate photographer, poet & writer. Professionally, I’m figuring out my niche and interest. I write what most don't, I write the other half stories. Some find my content hateful, and some find it inspiring. Some call me misogynist, some call me progressive. At the end, all that matters is the truth.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started